Restart.

Here’s what you need to know:

I. Blogging!  …makes me the tiniest bit nervous. Even though I’ve had many a blog during my time as an Internet person (side note: is the word “blog” kind of dopey or am I just a jerk?), talking into the void about myself feels kind of self-congratulating and weird. Maybe I’m just too much of a perfectionist for this. But here I am and here you are. Let’s try to not feel too much embarrassment for each other.

II. Let’s quickly circle back to that perfectionist idea, because really, that’s probably it. I’d never thought of myself as someone who’s That Person until early this year, when I noticed I was having a whole lot of trouble bringing myself to write anything outside of work, and the things I did write, I hated so much that the only course of reasonable action was to scrub said writing out of existence. This self-critical woe runs deep. Literally – I’ve written, rewritten, and deleted this post that you are right now reading with your own eyeballs.

III. So we’re going to try to cure some of that crazy and write stuff, stuff that we’re not going to feel stupid about later. And I genuinely have lots of random ideas for this little webspace knocking around in my brain thoughts that I’d like to put together, if I don’t delete everything first. (Ha ha?) ((Seriously, urge to trash this entire post is rising. There’s something pathological going on here.))

IV. At the start of this, I said there there were some things you needed to know and then implied I would be telling you those things. I suspect this was a lie on my part, because looking back, I don’t believe any of these points were necessary information, but it’s too late now. I’m sincerely trying to avoid hitting the delete button. I will not go back on my own word within the span of two paragraphs.

V. I just wanted a fifth point on here for the sake of aesthetics, but it may give me some added auspicious benefit as well. Fun fact: in Japan, the number four is considered unlucky. One of the ways to say “four” (四) in Japanese is “shi,” but you would also say “shi” if you meant “death” (死). It’s not uncommon for Japanese buildings to skip the fourth floor by labeling it as the fifth floor instead. (Kind of like how buildings in the West will sometimes skip the thirteenth floor and go straight to the fourteenth.) There’s even a name for this: tetraphobia. (And in a parallel-fashion, triskaidekaphobia, or the fear of the number thirteen.) There, you just learned yourself a thing. We’re going to learn about things on this blog, too. Get ready.

Leave a Reply

