2014: In Review

FullSizeRender (1)

Oh, 2014. You could have been so much better than you were. I’m not sure if this is the natural rhythm of the universe or what, but every now and again, I end up suffering through a really junky year. Like 2010. I could say a lot about 2010. And 2014? Also not so good.

I’ve always had a bad feeling about turning 25, and maybe it’s self-fulfilling prophecy or maybe it’s me sensing the cosmic atmosphere or whatever, but I’ve never been less pleased about being proven right. 2014 was, for me, the year I felt entirely out of control of my life. And while we are all at certain whims of the universe, all the things I normally put in the “under my control” column were in the other one and it sucked. And the more I tried to sort things out again and exert a little authority over various life situations, the worse things got and then it was existential spirals forever and ever.

So it was a bad year and I’m not sorry to see it go. But there’s this end-of-year tradition I have where I like to list all the random small and not-small things that happened. So while hardly exhaustive, this is what went on in my little life in 2014:

  • Last-minute adventure drive to Madison to see Julie Nunes perform (this also resulted in a great selfie)
  • …But also ended with me driving home in a snowstorm with bald tires, i.e. the most knuckle-white drive of my life.
  • I went rollerskating for the first time and was none too shabby (rollerskating backwards even!)
  • …Until I fell and fractured my radial head (or elbow, for you plebeians)
  • A weekend trip to Boston for a friend’s wedding and my first 100% solo travel (by which I mean, there was no one waiting for me when I arrived, no one to stay with, no one to wander the city with, etc. and while somewhat empowering, it was mostly lonely)
  • I decided to let go of the idea that I could be a proper vegetarian
  • Logan had a mysterious health scare, which involved a 2am visit to the emergency vet and insanely high vet bills
  • Mom had emergency surgery
  • Had a ’90s-themed birthday party (and dressed as Arnold from Hey! Arnold, otherwise known as pure class)
  • What would have been my first feature byline was unexpectedly cut
  • A string of bad to scary altercations with dudes in the span of a few weeks
  • Spent much of the late spring and entire summer being incredibly stressed and tense due to my work situation
  • I drove to the Twin Cities to visit friends (and celebrated Father’s Day with someone else’s dad… oops!)
  • Saw Tegan and Sara perform at Summerfest (my first Summerfest experience ever, which is semi-ridiculous)
  • Helped a couple friends move out of their apartment
  • …And by doing so, scored a free guitar! (Yay!)
  • My flash fanfiction tumblr I co-run with my roommate hit over 1k followers
  • Spent a quiet weekend on Washington Island with my parents
  • DisneyWorld/LeakyCon trip (…admittedly, both left me rather disenchanted)
  • But I did get to see a bunch of panels featuring YA authors I admire (Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins, Holly Black, John Green, Laurie Halse Anderson, etc.)
  • Celebrated roommate’s birthday and valiantly drove to five different bakeries to find the perfect birthday cake
  • I drove to St. Louis where my high school best friend and I got up to our usual shenanigans (including sneaking into an abandoned, half-finished amusement park)
  • Hosted a raucous video game night with some of my favorite people (and dressed up as Princess Peach)
  • New job! Same company, but I moved to the copy desk as a copy editor
  • …And fell in love with a whole new medium: podcasts!
  • Random road trip to Ames, where I was reunited with my two nearest and dearest college friends for the first time since 2012
  • My apartment was put up for sale
  • I used up the rest of my vacation time on a trip to Ottawa to visit Japan-friends and merry times were had by all
  • …Though I did fail to appreciate Canadian culture experiences (no on the Tim Horton’s and double-no on the poutine)
  • My uncle passed away
  • Spilled gasoline all over myself while filling up my tank before work one morning (a thing that can happen, apparently)
  • My old roommate came to Milwaukee for a short weekend visit
  • New job! Again! Still at the same company, but now as an editor for a different magazine

I don’t know what’s going to happen in 2015. One of my friends said she thinks 2015 will be an adjustment year, a growing year, and that maybe it won’t be great, but it’ll sow the seeds for great. I’ll take it. This one was certainly a doozy.

2 thoughts on “2014: In Review

  1. It was a pretty great cake! I hope that great things will start to take root for you next year…2015 feels more like a foundational year than 2014 did.

    Like

    • I was proud of that cake! (Though I shouldn’t take too much credit – Elise did the actual decorating.) I think 2015 will be a foundational year, too. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

