Going Cruelty Free

cruelty free products

One of my resolutions for this bright and shiny new year was to switch to cruelty free beauty products, so… I did!

I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile now, but just never set aside the time to properly tackle it. (Embarrassing, I know, since compared to most people, I really don’t have a lot of beauty products.) I stopped buying things willy-nilly in 2014, but I knew I was still using beauty products that had been tested on animals. Maybe it’s just me, but I think torturing and killing animals in the name of lipgloss and eyeshadow is pretty fucking gross and it’s just not a price I’m willing to pay anymore. It was time to give my makeup collection the animal testing exorcism it rightly deserved.

There weren’t too many surprises in the final breakdown of Stuff. By and large, what I already use in my day to day is cruelty free, barring my moisturizer and foundation. I’ll be keeping those non-cruelty free items around until they run out or I find a cruelty free replacement. Nail polish took the biggest hit, as expected, and I get the feeling finding nail polish that’s cruelty free will be the primary challenge going forward. (Some of my nail polish did make the cut, though, like Nailtini and Zoya, so I at least have a good starting point in replenishing my collection!)

Not pictured in the photo above are the inbetweeners: products made by companies that don’t test their products on animals (Urban Decay, Burt’s Bees, Tom’s of Maine, etc.) but are owned by companies that do. Switching to cruelty free makeup is such a no-brainer, but as I researched it more, I found there can be a lot of grey area. I still haven’t decided where I stand when it comes to the inbetweeners, but it’s definitely something that’s going to give me pause the next time I’m shopping for makeup and similar products and I think, overall, I’ll be avoiding those things that fall in the vague sort-of-cruelty-free, but sort-of-not category.

I also ended up with a tiny mystery pile, which solely consisted of Be a Bombshell products. I couldn’t find them on any vetted cruelty free lists… or on any non-cruelty free lists. Their website says they don’t test on animals, but I couldn’t help noticing that all the Be a Bombshell products I have were made in China… where animal testing is required by law. I get the feeling Be a Bombshell might be an inbetweener, but since I haven’t been super impressed with their stuff anyway, I’ll probably end up giving them away in the end.

All in all, I’m not sorry to see my non-cruelty free stuff go, because now, not only is my makeup more in line with my personal values, but I have an excellent reason to go on a cruelty free shopping spree!

If you’re thinking about switching to cruelty free products, here are some of the resources I used to get started:

Going Cruelty Free (video – no graphic images)

Animal Testing 101 (video – no graphic images)

DerpinaMODE’s Cruelty Free + Non-Cruelty Free Brands (list)

Logical Harmony’s Cruelty Free & Vegan Brand List

Leaping Bunny’s Shopping Guide

My Beauty Bunny’s Cruelty Free Brands and ResourcesΒ (list)

Leave a Reply

